Simms tabbed Rookie Runner of the Year; six Scots honored by USA South

Simms tabbed Rookie Runner of the Year; six Scots honored by USA South

The USA South Athletic Conference released their 2019 Cross-Country awards this past weekend, as sophomore Lilly Simms led six Scots that were on the coveted awards list.

Simms – a sophomore from Pigeon Forge, Tenn. – was named the league's Rookie Runner of the Year, while Lea Mulligan, Hannah Mattison, Daniel Beckett, Sarah McFann and Ryan Lay were also honored.

Simms, who was participating in her first season of collegiate running, tallied four top-five finishes in her six races this season. The other two races featured scholarship athletes from Division I, Division II and NAIA schools.

"We're incredibly proud of Lilly's overall performance," Head Coach Tyson Murphy said. "She finished in the Top 5 [of the USA South Championship race] ahead of a couple people that were really pushing her for Rookie of the Year. She was able to nail down that accolade with her fifth-place overall finish, and she was voted by the other coaches as the best first-year runner in the conference this season. It's a great overall time. She's dealt with some health issues, but she was able to push through that. We really have a lot to look forward to as she starts her campaign with Maryville College."

Simms earned the Rookie Runner of the Year alongside First Team All-Conference Honors as a Top-7 finisher.

The All-Conference awards for Cross-Country are based on the individual's finish in the USA South Championships. Those were held Saturday, Nov. 2 in Rocky Mount, N.C.

The sophomore was joined on the First Team All-Conference ballot by Mulligan. The junior had a huge performance, breaking the Maryville College 6K record.

The Chattanooga, Tenn. native led the Scots to a fourth-place finish as a squad, as she placed second individually. Mulligan ran a time of 23:12.97.

"We were the only team to have two individuals in the Top 5 [on the women's side], so we really had a strong front end of our race," Murphy said. "Lilly Simms and Lea Mulligan just did a fantastic job of fighting it out to lead this race."

Simms placed fifth individually with a time of 23:52.05.

Additionally, Maryville's Mattison was named to the league's Third Team All-Conference list with a 20th-place finish. Mattison ran the 6K course in a time of 25:40.16.

On the men's side of competition, it was MC's Beckett who earned All-Conference honors in Saturday's race.

Beckett – a senior from Oak Ridge, Tenn. – led the Scots to a sixth-place finish as a unit.

For his efforts, he was tabbed a Second Team All-Conference honoree.

"Our lead-out for the last four years has been senior Daniel Beckett," Murphy said. "He ran in the high 26s, and it's his third or fourth race with a sub-27-minute 8K this year. That's fantastic. He set the school record [earlier], and he's just been all over it since. It's great to see your seniors go out being really fast and really consistent. Not just one great race, but he put together a body of solid, sound work."

Beckett placed 13th individually with a time of 26:51.84.

Maryville was also represented on the conference's All-Sportsmanship Teams. MC's McFann and Lay were named All-Sportsmanship for the Scots.

The 2019 USA South Women's Cross Country All-Conference Team:

Runner of the Year Rookie of the Year Coach of the Year

Jamie Welch
Lilly Simms

Shawn Jakubowski
First Team
(Top-7 Finishers at Conference Meet)
1. Jamie Welch, Berea
2. Lea Mulligan, Maryville
3. Makayla Lawler, Methodist
4. Sarah Kate Lipperd, Covenant
5. Lilly Simms, Maryville
6. Rachel Bates, Berea
7. Corrine Weaver, Meredith
Second Team
(Finishers 8-14 at Conference Meet)
8. Maggie Henry, Covenant
9. Mary Beth Mellhuish, Berea
10. Courtney Drumm, Methodist
11. Valeria Angel, Piedmont
12. Ivanna Sabino, Berea
13. Hayley Clark, Berea
14. Jenna Hughes, Berea
Third Team
(Finishers 15-21 at Conference Meet)
15. Casey Todd, Piedmont
16. Analee Bradach, Piedmont
17. Bethany Bigler, Berea
18. Julie Tonon, Meredith
19. Caitlyn Roberts, Berea
20. Hannah Mattison, Maryville
21. Nichole Rittgers, Covenant
Honorable Mention
(Finishers 22-30 at Conference Meet)
22. Michelle Gladdis, Meredith
23. Ashleigh Baker, Covenant
24. Cedera Franklin, N.C. Wesleyan
25. Josey George, Piedmont
26. Alyson Hanlon, Pfeiffer
27. Haley Bolt, Piedmont
28. Brianna Parker, Mary Baldwin
29. Addie Bolton, Piedmont
30. Tylan Eastham, Berea
All-Sportsmanship Team
Hannah Brendell, Agnes Scott
Sydney Fryman, Averett
Jenna Hughes, Berea
Molly Brown, Brevard
Maggie Henry, Covenant
Mary Stanley, Huntingdon
Natalie Glass, LaGrange
Stephanie Barbaro, Mary Baldwin
Sarah McFann, Maryville
Banesa Arellano, Meredith
Lemlem Gebremichele, Methodist
Teanna Bellamy, N.C. Wesleyan
Tiffany Bartholomew, Pfeiffer
Haley Bolt, Piedmont
Jessica Bailey, Salem
Marilynn NeSmith, Wesleyan
Shawntez Mickens, William Peace

The 2019 USA South Men's Cross Country All-Conference Team:

Runner of the Year Rookie of the Year Coach of the Year

Logan McKenzie

Luke Wilson

Shawn Jakubowski


First Team Second Team Third Team Honorbale Mention
(Top-7 Finishers at Conference Meet) (Finishers 8-14 at Conference Meet) (Finishers 15-21 at Conference Meet) (Finishers 22-24 at Conference Meet)
1. Logan McKenzie, Berea
2. Luke Wilson, Berea
3. Sair Salgado, Berea
4. Tanner Carson, Berea
5. Tyler Little, Berea
6. Brendan Yeager, Covenant
7. Avery Fair, Berea
8. Bryce Griggs, Piedmont
9. Gavin Morgan, Brevard
10. Micaiah Allison, Covenant
11. Matthew Seitz, Covenant
12. Christian Tippette, N.C. Wesleyan
13. Daniel Beckett, Maryville
14. Gary Halverson, Piedmont
15. Noah Irwin, Piedmont
16. Connor Moranos, Piedmont
17. Alvin Jacobs, Piedmont
18. Jonathan George, Covenant
19. Drew Topoly, Methodist
20. Nathan Galloway, Piedmont
21. Andrew Bowen, N.C. Wesleyan
22. Caleb Flege, Berea
23. Garrett Stafford, Piedmont
24. Connor Ayers, Methodist
 All-Sportsmanship Team 
Chandler Lowell , Averett
Brandon Yearout, Berea
Solomon Turner, Brevard
Jonathan George, Covenant
Taylor Chestnutt, Huntingdon
Darius Wonnum, LaGrange
Joseph Widger, Mary Baldwin
Ryan Lay, Maryville
Jonathan Wertz, Methodist
Philly Barungi, N.C. Wesleyan
Dakota Freeman, Pfeiffer
Bryce Griggs, Piedmont
Tucker Soltesz, William Peace