MC fights off lightning delay, late rally to defeat Sewanee behind Reagan

MC fights off lightning delay, late rally to defeat Sewanee behind Reagan

Maryville College used an early goal to earn their first win of the 2017 campaign in shutout fashion on Tuesday night, as the Scots downed the Tigers of Sewanee, 1-0.

Shannon Reagan scored her second goal of the season to lead Maryville to the thrilling victory.

Maryville managed a goal only 19:17 into the match. Hannah Clothier lofted a high pass from behind the midline, dropping the ball in between the defense.

Reagan caught the pass on the right side of the box, switching direction. Reagan avoided the goalie that had come out, before she used a slide kick from the left of the box to center an open net.

With 10:38 remaining in the contest, the match was delayed by lightning. Referees saw the lightning, immediately sending teams to safe locations where they remained until play resumed.

After the 30-minute delay, the match resumed with Sewanee's upped momentum. Maryville fought off multiple shots from the Tigers in the final three minutes of action to hold off the 1-0 victory.

The Scots tallied 13 shots on the night with five of those finding their mark. Reagan and Bailey Sipos each had three shots, both with two on goal.

Rachel Taylor earned the shutout in goal, posting a save in the contest.

For Sewanee, the squad spread the six shots among six players. Kiley Ezzel managed the only shot on goal for the Tigers on the night.

Maryville will look to continue the winning ways as they travel to Memphis, Tenn. for the Rhodes College Invitational.

The Scots will take on Saturday, Sept. 9 at 1 p.m. EST, 12 p.m. CST, before taking on host Lynx on Sunday, Sept. 10 at 11 a.m. EST, 10 a.m. CST.